Lesson Learned

So I go to the gym the other day for a pretty tough run.  When I get to the locker room, I realize I forgot to pack socks.  So, being the hard-headed person I am, I figured running once without socks won’t kill me.  Well, I was right about the no death part but it still was not very smart.  With about half a mile to go in my workout I looked down and saw some blood starting to soak through the top of my right shoe.  I felt it but was trying to be a tough guy.  When I finally stopped, I had a nice blister on the bottom of my left foot, a skinned achilles on my left foot and a pretty raw middle toe on my right.

Fortunately, Friday was not a running day but today I had to do 10 miles.  And let me tell you something.  10 miles WITH socks and a healing blister is much better than 5.5 miles WITHOUT socks and a developing blister.  So from now on, there will ALWAYS be a spare pair of socks in my glove compartment.  Have you ever had something similar happen to you and now you have a preventative measure in place??

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

