Juany Torres’ First Blog Post From D.C.

Juany Torres is one of the students from McCollum High School who traveled to Washington, DC for the Inauguration of President-Elect Barack Obama. Here is her first observations from Washington, DC.

Wow! My first day in Washington, DC has been unbelievable.

Arriving from Union Station last night was amazing. They had a platform and red, white, and blue balloons everywhere awaiting Obama’s train ride arrival.

The first thing you see when walking outside is our United States Capitol.

It was unbelivable and very emotional; I could not contain my tears. My dream was coming true. I was picked up and given a tour of the city. From the Lincoln Memorial to the Pentagon, I saw it all. It was wow, crazy!

Today I went to look at even more memorials and historic monuments. I also had the opportunity to visit the Holocaust Museum.

Washington, DC is getting more packed by the minute and streets and freeways are starting to get closed down. The temperatures are getting colder than they have been all year but its is an unforgettable experience.

Tomorrow I will be going to the Latino Inaugural Gala where I will meet with George Lopez, Marc Anthony, Jennifer Lopez, Eva Longoria, Paulina Rubio and many more of these great LATINO celebrities. It is said Obama might even show up! I cant wait!

Stay tuned to  KSAT  because I will try to send as much video coverage as possible!  Wish me luck!

Explore posts in the same categories: News, Politics, Random Thoughts

One Comment on “Juany Torres’ First Blog Post From D.C.”

  1. Carla Says:

    Wow! I’m so proud of you guys! I remember last year you all talked about your big dreams and now you three are getting an amazing experience! During McCollum’s comedy show, I remember Roy’s great Obama impression! I can’t wait to read of your experiences of tomorrow’s inauguration.

    -Carla Gomez
    Last year’s GO Center Sponsor


Leave a Reply

