Chris and Roy’s D.C. Adventure

The following are the latest two blog entries from McCollum High School students Chris Cantu and Roy Aguillon. They, along with classmate Juany Torres, have traveled to Washington, D.C., to witness the inauguration of Barack Obama.

Roy: Today was a wonderful day, although it got all the way down to 6 degrees, we somehow made it. We met some interesting figures on our second day here in Washington D.C.

For example, today we met a gentlemen who registered over 2,000 new voters! We also met a restaurant owner who was so inspired by President-Elect Obama that he made and named a burger after the President-Elect. The people around here are excited about the transition of power, and according to a number of the locals, this kind of preparation for an inauguration is unprecedented.

It’s pretty easy to see the evidence of that all around us as we drove past the gated off Swearing-In Ceremony area, Chris and I counted well over 400 portable restrooms in one area alone! Tonight we’re off to the Lincoln Memorial, An Inauguration party that’s headlined by The Common, and a tattoo shop that offers the face of the President-Elect as one of its tattoo options. We hope to bring you more of our original perspective on all the Inaugural events in the days to follow so keep tuning in to KSAT or checking our video/text blog on the KSAT website to see what happens next. That’s my blog for today Signed, Sealed, and Delivered.

Chris: Today was the first day we were officially on our own in the downtown area.  We first went walking to the Nation’s Capital to see the wonderful monument.  While we were walking there it was freezing!  The temperature was in the single digits, lower than San Antonio has ever had in my lifetime.  Bundled up in layers of clothes, all I could think of is how crazy this it that I’m actually in Washington D.C.

I want to THANK everybody who made it possible for me to be here.  It’s simple amazing that I’m able to be here and witness history all because of a little luck and a BIG help from my supporters.  Roy and I want to thank all of our school board members including our superintendent, Robert Jacklich, and our principal, Diana Casas ,for letting us have the opportunity to be here.  I also want to thank all the people who have contributed to me financially; Shawn McCormick from Summit HME including many of the employees, Escamilla & Poneck, and every one else who donated from family members to friends, I truly couldn’t do it without y’all.

It was great, we went to Library of Congress and explored our nation’s documents and learned more about our countries history.  After that we took some shoots from the capital to send to KSAT.  But the day still ain’t over, next we are going to an inauguration party, Lincoln Memorial, and many more.  We’ll make sure to take our camera to record our events.  That was my evening, I’ll post more blogs as the trip progresses.  Thanks for reading!

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “Chris and Roy’s D.C. Adventure”

  1. Cindy Rodriguez Says:

    Chris, I am so proud of you!!! Remember you can live out your DREAMS. Dream Big son, they will come true because you are a true beliver. Have fun and bundle up!!

    Love Mom 🙂

  2. Pam P Says:

    Hi Chris – Congrats on all your hard work, it has definitely paid off! I know you’re going to go on and do great things! It’s fantastic that you are able to be in D.C. for this historic event. Stay warm 🙂

    (your cousin) Pam 🙂

  3. Anna Thompson Says:

    Hey Chris,
    Just to let you know that we are all living vicariously through you at the moment. Yeahhhhhh! Did I mention that the whole Familia is proud of you. Take lots of pictures and enjoy these great moments, I am sure this is just the beginning of many more great things to come your way. God bless you and keep you safe.

  4. Uncle Chuck Says:

    Way to go Chris…… save a good story of your trip for me and I might just let you win next time I play a video game with you.

  5. Tina Marie Says:

    Chris,
    I am so glad you got the opportunity to be there in D.C. and witness history. Your Mom is so proud of you, you wouldn’t believe the way she talks about you at work or how she tears up as she follows your blogs. Continue to make your dreams come true, we ALL know you will succeed

    Oh and take lots of pictures!! See you soon!

  6. grandma letty Says:

    hey dad I am so proud of you , words
    cannot decribe. you have accomplish so much.As these years go by I have seen you turn from a little boy to grown man. I’m getting so emotional just typing this , keep warm and stay safe.I will see you soon .
    love you grandma

  7. Tia Leti Says:

    Aloha all the way from Hawaii Ne my nephew Roy Justin!
    Text me if you need anything or directions to places.
    Be safe and be safe….

    Love you,

    Tia Leti

  8. Nancy Gaines Says:

    Man this took me forever to figure this blog out 🙂 Hope you’re staying warm and enjoying the sights. Can you see yourself living out there already? Excited to read some more of your blogs soon!

  9. kyle Says:

    Congratulations! have a great time.

  10. Melissa Says:

    Boys… please don’t come back with a tattoo. And make sure to take lots of photos!!!! I can’t wait till you bring me back my gifts 😉 Keep up the great reports . We are so proud of both of you.

  11. Jessica V. Says:

    Hey Mijo (Roy-Justin! )

    Just wanted to say that..
    I love the blog & that I am so Happy & Excited for you guys 😉 bundle up & take care.

    i’ll be waiting for the next blog or video

    -Jess

  12. paul Says:

    I’m writing to let Chris know that i am very proud of him for striving hard for what he wants and believes. I hope you enjoy yourself out there and have fun. Great things are in store for you in the future, just keep looking forward and go for it. Be safe and take care.

  13. Nancy Cantu Says:

    Chris,
    I just wanted to say I am proud of you guys for following your passions in life, I wish there were more young adults like you guys. This was the greats historcial moment in ya’lls lives. Soak everything in and carry it with you through out your journey’s. Your our future, be proud of were you came from and show every one yes ya’ll can…….
    can’t wait to read your blogs thru out the coming day’s

    Justine’s Mom,

  14. Diana Says:

    Roy
    GOD IS GOOD!

  15. Jason Talbert Says:

    Chris,
    I hope all is going well for you and Roy!!.
    I have enjoyed watching your coverage from the inauguration from D.C..I can not express in words how proud that your family is of you that you are able to witnes this momentous occasion in person (Especially your Mom and Sister Car.). As hard as you campaigned for Barack ,I can not imagine any one more deserving to witness this historic occasion in person than you. I am looking foward to hearing all of the details from your trip on Friday.

    Love,

    J.T.


Leave a Reply

