Roy Aguillon’s 1st impressions of his Washington, DC Trip

This is the first installment of Roy Aguillon’s blog of his trip to Washington, DC to witness the Inauguration of President-Elect Barack Obama. Roy is one of the three students from McCollum High School who we are following on their journey. Here is his first entry:

Today we arrived in Washington, DC and the first stop on our trip was the United States Capitol.

I couldn’t help but get goosebumps as we walked down the hallways of that historic building; while I walked a sense of history began to surround me. I could picture some of the greats like Daniel Webster or Robert Kennedy pacing the hallways and looking for the answer to some of our nation’s most pressing problems. To step where some of our nation’s most valued leaders once stepped was truly an honor.

Even right now at the start of my journey I can’t help but remember those who helped me get here. Because I am in no position financially to be going on trips across the country, I had to depend on my community to support me, and boy, they sure did! Every aspect of the community helped us in every way they could – from small businesses like Jasmine Engineering, or community groups like the Mission Democrats, the River Worship Center Christian Church, and the San Antonio Progressive Action Committee – they all gave what they could. But what touched me the most was the individual donors who helped us get here, with everything from $1 to $100, they gave so that we could witness this truly historic moment when our nation will receive its first African-American President.

Thank you to everyone who helped us get here and Thank You KSAT 12 for giving us the tremendous opportunity to record and report on our journey though this truly historic moment.

Explore posts in the same categories: News, Politics, Random Thoughts

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Roy Aguillon’s 1st impressions of his Washington, DC Trip”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Roy, I am so proud of you and Chris. You two deserve to be a part of such a historical event. I can’t wait to read more. Keep posting.

  2. Daniel Says:

    Our prayers are with you & Chris. Enjoy this historical time, so stay safe and strong.

  3. Carla Says:

    I’m so proud of you guys! Hey Roy, have you busted out with your Obama impression yet from last year’s comedy show? I can’t wait to read about your experiences tomorrow!

    -Carla
    GO Center sponsor from last year

  4. ary m gervelis Says:

    I just read about your exchange with Michele Bachman on October 29, 2011.

    I am a second generation American (old white guy). My father, first generation, fought in WWII. My brother, served as a Second Lieutenant during the Viet Nam conflict, though he was always stateside. My daughter, third generation, fought in Iran. All of us. would be proud that you stood up for the children. All children belong to all of us and our all of our responsibility. Thank you for your courage. If you ever need support for your mission, I would be honored to help. ggervelis@gmail.com

  5. Jasmine Engineering Says:

    We are so proud of you!


Leave a Reply

