Witness to History (oh, how I’m jealous!)

Chris Cantu (left), Roy Augillon and Juany Torres will be chronicling their trip to Washington D.C., for Barack Obama's inauguration on KSAT 12 and KSAT.com.

Students these days always amaze me (I hesitate to call them kids, because there’s nothing childish about the teenagers of whom I write – as you will soon learn)!

Just yesterday, I had the pleasure of meeting three people – a young women and two young men – who are about to join millions of people in Washington, D.C., for the inauguration of Barack Obama (an event hereafter referred to as Obama-Palooza). I am so excited for them!! I’ve never been to an inauguration, and here they are, about to be part of it all! But attending the inauguration isn’t what separates them from the pack – millions will be jamming into Washington, D.C., alongside them to witness, revel and participate in Obama-Palooza. Their motivation, their hard work, their enthusiasm – it’s infectious, and that’s what I admire. Admittedly, I was not nearly so forward-thinking when I was their age. Secretly, I crave it for myself, for my family and for my friends (okay, not so secretly… hence the whole blog-on-the-internet-for-all-to-see thing).

Juany Torres, Roy Aguillon and Chris Cantu are all students at McCollum High School – part of the Harlandale ISD. They are smart, interesting, motivated and willing to work for what they want.

Shouldn’t we all be so inclined?

They worked hard to raise the money to pay for their trips to Washington, DC – and earned invitations to the Inauguration from U.S. Rep. Ciro Rodriguez. As a woman who’s been doing this news thing for awhile… they seem to me – what is the word?

Fearless?

Optimistic?

Unabashed?

None of those descriptions seem enough. Not nearly enough. Chris, Juany and Roy seem to believe that anything is possible. Anything is theirs for the taking. Anything can happen with hard work, determination, good fortune, and a willingness to dig in and get involved. Of course, I desperately want to believe they’re right. They deserve to be right. I vaguely remember feeling that way a long time ago, perhaps when I was their age. But, only once did I feel COMPELLED to act on it.

They act on it.

They walk to the walk.

They’re serious business.

So, here we all are… on the eve of something I believe is really exciting. This is big time. There is serious business to be done here. Even if you don’t buy into the Obama-Biden promise. Even if you didn’t vote at all – this is our time to act.

This is our time to be compelled.

This is our time to walk the walk.

And so, we are delighted to have three young explorers there to help us navigate through the first few moments of this time. Chris, Roy and Juany are jetting off to Washington, D.C., – armed with video cameras and laptops – ready to share their experience; share their excitement. They’ll be touring the city, attending the events and witnessing the history.

Savoring the moment.

We’ll be featuring their travelogues on KSAT 12 News and KSAT.com. I hope you’ll join us – it should be a fascinating journey.

Explore posts in the same categories: Internet, News, Politics, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Witness to History (oh, how I’m jealous!)”

  1. Norma Jean Says:

    Is it not amazing what our youth of today can do? Sometimes we dont give them enough credit.

  2. Carolyn Says:

    Chris Cantu is my older brother and I am so happy to be his younger sister. He is watching history in the making and all the weeks of canpaining and fundraising was worth it for him to have this experience.


  3. I am so proud of you Son!, I am sorry I wasnt able to see off to DC. but, I will be there to pick you up. looking forward to read the next blogs

  4. Melissa Says:

    Roy and Chris, savor every moment over there. You will have stories to share for a lifetime. Take photos of everything! I can’t wait to read more of all your adventures in DC. Keep us posted.


Leave a Reply

