It’s all about the schedule

Okay, I’m really re-realizing something about myself with this whole marathon training stuff.  I really thrive on schedules.  Especially when it comes to working out but even more so in life.  Since my little girl was born 19 months ago, I made many ill-fated attempts to get back into some sort of workout routine but I never really made a plan.  I’d run twice one week, then not run for two.  Now that I really got serious about running, I set up the calendar and have only missed one day (and that’s because I was sick!).  It really is amazing to me how much easier it seems for me to do something when it’s written down or printed out. I knew I had to run 6 miles on Tuesday, 4 on Wednesday, 9 on Friday and 5 on Sunday.  I didn’t have to think about it, just go and do it.

I think that’s what I need to do with all my free time.  I’m not very organized without organization.  My problem, that I’m hoping many others have, is that I’ll start to do something at home, see another thing in the house and then start doing that real quick, intending to go back to job one, but end up on job three or four.  I guess that does make me a little anal, and a bit slow, since it’s taken me 31 years to see that.  But I did, so I guess that’s a start.  As much as I enjoy being lazy every now and then, I also have my go go go moments, which can drive my wife crazy!  Those are the times I really need the plan.  A bit of organized chaos.

Well, I think I’m done sharing but since I don’t have a schedule, I think I’m gonna go find some ways to waste time!

Charles Gonzalez is a weekend anchor and reporter with KSAT-12. He is training for the Rock ‘n’ Roll San Antonio Marathon.

Explore posts in the same categories: Random Thoughts

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

