Emmy Award Predictions

It’s fall award season! The TV shows get their turn at the Emmy Awards. You can see the full list of nominees here. Since we both watch a lot of TV (some of which is blogged about here), Julie & I are making our predictions. See our picks after the jump!

Julie: Alright. I’m picking winners soley based on the shows I watch. Therefore, it’s a very scientific process and has a lot of merit. I’d say you would be smart to use these predictions if you participate in any for-profit prognosticating polls. Pshaw.

Nicole: I watch a LOT of TV, and sadly, have seen most of these shows. Some of these will be tough for me to choose just one winner.

Outstanding Choreography

Julie: While Shane Sparks Transformers routine was BUCK as the hip SYTYCD judges often say, I give the slight edge to Wade Robson’s Hummingbird and Flower routine. Love that show.

Nicole: I agree. I’ve never seen more than 30 seconds of High School Musical (tweens who have stumbled onto this blog by mistake can boo now), but I’ve seen the other performances. They’re all nomination worthy, that Hummingbird and Flower routine was moving art. LOVED IT!

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series

Julie: I love Pushing Daisies, but as far as funny goes, I’m gonna say Steve Carrell in The Office.

Nicole: OOOH! This one’s tough! If it’s comedy though, Steve Carrell makes me giggle every week – even in reruns. That’s what she said.

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series

Julie: I’ve only seen Boston Legal out of these shows, so I’m going to have to go with Spader.

Nicole: I think Spader’s the easy choice. Bryan Cranston is great as science teacher-turned methamphetamine maker on “Breaking Bad.” Michael C. Hall is a lovable serial killer on “Dexter.” And I love, love, LOVE John Hamm’s Don Draper on “Mad Men.” I’ll choose Hamm because he’s handsome – or Hammsome. That’s right. I’m giving the edge to hotness.

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Miniseries Or A Movie

Julie: I’ve seen none of these. But I hear Paul Giamatti was great. Or maybe Ricky Gervais.

Nicole: Maybe it’s because I just recently set aside most of a Sunday to watch the entire “John Adams” series on my DVR, but I’m going with Giamatti.

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy Series

Julie: I love Julia Louis-Dreyfus and America Ferrera. I’m going with America because I’m feeling patriotic.

Nicole: I’m going with Christina Applegate because I like her on “Samantha Who?” She plays naive just as well as she plays naughty. However, I think Tina Fey will win. I’m OK with that, too.

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series

Julie: I loved her in Gidget, so I’m going with Sally Field.

Nicole: I guess I’m loving cable. Glenn Close’s Patty Hewes on “Damages” was “Fatal Attraction” scary. And in a good way. I’d be afraid to vote AGAINST her. You’ve been warned…

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Miniseries Or A Movie

Julie: I watched none of these but I love Mrs. Huxtable. Phylicia Rashad gets my vote.

Nicole: “John Adams” is the only one I saw, so I’ll pick Laura Linney. She’s outstanding!

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series

Julie: I love Dwight Schrute and Barney Stinson equally. Too hard to choose.

Nicole: They’re great, if you’re not watching cable. Jeremy Piven’s Ari Gold keeps me on the edge of my seat when I watch “Entourage.” Here’s the problem: you don’t get “Entourage” as often as you get “The Office” or “HIMYM.” Still, the interaction between Ari & Lloyd is one of my favorite bromances out there.

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series

Julie: Ben is uber-creepy. I’ve got to give Michael Emerson my vote.

Nicole: Michael Emerson is certainly creepy, and I’m still confused about him being a good guy. But I’m going to give the nod to Ted Danson. On “Damages,” his Arthur Frobisher is 180 degrees from Sam Malone. And I think Frobisher could take Ben and crush him. Seriously.

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Miniseries Or A Movie

Julie: I cannot make an informed decision in this contest, so I’m making an uninformed decision. I’ve got to go with the first President of the U.S. because again, I am very patriotic. Good for you, David Morse.

Nicole: Wow. The whole category is split between two HBO shows. I’m choosing Denis Leary as Michael Whouley in “Recount.” Why? Because I’ve always liked him. Everyone else in this category was good. I just like Leary.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series

Julie: Vanessa Williams is fantastic but I’ve got to go with Kristin Chenoweth. She is fantastic in Pushing Daisies.

Nicole: I’m with you. I adore Kristin Chenoweth. She’s like a pocket-sized comedienne/singer.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama Series

Julie: Chandra Wilson

Nicole: Hey, look at that! Two in a row! Chandra is my pick here, too.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Miniseries Or A Movie

Julie: Alfre Woodard.  I’ve seen none of these movies — but who doesn’t love her?

Nicole: Laura Dern was great as Katherine Harris in “Recount.” It’s EXACTLY how I thought Katherine Harris behaved off camera.

Outstanding Guest Actor In A Comedy Series

Julie: I take my comedy very seriously, and since I’ve seen none of these, I am actually abstaining from this one. Shocking.

Nicole: Believe it or not, I have only watched 5 minutes of “30 Rock.” That 5 minutes included Tim Conway. So he’ll get my vote (which, in case you have not figured out by now – does NOT count).

Outstanding Guest Actor In A Drama Series

Julie: Stanley Tucci.

Nicole: Ditto. He was great on ER. BTW: it’s possible Julie and I are the only ones still watching this show.

Outstanding Guest Actress In A Comedy Series

Julie: All of them. They should share. (?)

Nicole: Unlike Julie, I’m not afraid to pick one: Kathryn Joosten’s Karen McClusky. I love her as the nosy neighbor on “Desperate Housewives.” There’s something about her that catches my eye every time she’s on the telly.

Outstanding Guest Actress In A Drama Series

Julie: Diahann Carroll in Grey’s.

Nicole: Since her performance is the only one I’ve seen in this category, I agree.

Outstanding Host For A Reality Or Reality-Competition Program

Julie: Tom Bergeron has grown on me, but I guess I have to say Jeff Probst. His pesteringly obvious play-by-play’s during the Survivor competitions annoy me and make me laugh at the same time.

Nicole: Seacrest is definitely out for me. The only other reality show here that I watch is DWTS, so I go with Bergeron. He’s quick on his feet. And I don’t mean dancing.

Outstanding Comedy Series

Julie: The Office

Nicole: Again, I choose “The Office” over “Entourage” because I get to see it more often. Plus, it is consistently funny. Perhaps that’s where the large cast (Dunder Mifflin) trumps the guy gang of misfits (Vincent Chase and his boys).

Outstanding Drama Series

Julie: Lost!!!!

Nicole: Shows like the ones in this category make me happy I have a DVR! “Lost” is a mind-shaker each week. “Damages” and “Dexter” scare me so much, I have to wait until the weekend to watch them – and even then, it’s ONLY in daylight (otherwise, I’ll have bad dreams). So how to pick one? In this case, it’s like picking a favorite child (not that have kids). So, I’ll choose “Lost.” Just don’t tell Dexter or Patty Hewes. I don’t want them to come find me.

Outstanding Reality-Competition Program

Julie: I love Idol and DWTS but Amazing Race has always been a step above the others.

Nicole: I’m sure Amazing Race is really good (that’s what people tell me). I just go back to “Idol.” The fact that you find 20 singers out of a pack of thousands and whittle it down to one singer by the end is a true amazing race to me. Plus, you get the whole funny audition episodes with “Idol.” Some call it a karaoke competition. But tell me you didn’t get chills when David Cook rocked “Hello.”

So there you have our picks. The awards show airs September 21 on KSAT 12, so it’ll be a while before either of us knows just how well we did. Let us know your thoughts about our winners in the comments section.

Explore posts in the same categories: TV

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Emmy Award Predictions”


  1. […] And The Emmy Goes To… Filed under: TV — producernicole @ 10:10 pm Tags: 30 rock, abc, alec baldwin, america ferrera, amy poehler, betty white, breaking bad, brooke shields, bryan cransten, candace bergen, christian slater, christina applegate, conan o’brien, craig ferguson, cranford (masterpiece), cynthia nixon, damages, david borneaz, desperate housewives, diane wiest, don rickles, dragnet, ed mcmahon, eileen atkins, entourage, glenn close, glynn turman, hayden panettiere, heidi klum, house, howie mandel, in treatment, jay roach, jean smart, jeff probst, jennifer love hewitt, jeremy piven, jimmy kimmel, john adams, josh groban, julia louis dreyfus, kate walsh, kathryn joosten, kathy griffin, kiefer sutherland, kirk eillis, kristin chenoweth, ksat, laugh in, laura linney, lauren conrad, laurence fishburne, law & order: svu, m.a.s.h., mad men, martin sheen, mary tyler moore, mr. warmth: the don rickles project, neil patrick harris, oprah winfrey, patrick dempsey, paul giamatti, primetime emmy awards, pushing daisies, recount, ricky gervais, ryan seacrest, sally field, samantha who, san antonio, sandra oh, so you think you can dance, st. elsewhere, steve carrell, steve martin, steven colbert, the amazing race, the colbert report, the daily show with jon stewart, the simpsons, the smothers brothers comedy hour, tim conway, tina fey, tom bergeron, tom hanks, tom selleck, tom wilkinson, tommy smothers, vanessa williams, wade robson, wayne brady, west wing, william peterson, william shatner, zeljko ivanek Perhaps you watched the 60th Annual Primetime Emmy Award show Sunday night. Maybe you were in it for the jokes. Maybe you were in it to see who wore the prettiest/ugliest dress. I was in it from the beginning to see how Julie and I would fare since we made our picks on this blog last week. […]


Leave a Reply

